England has had two Diamond Queens

Queen Victoria ~ 1837 - 1901

Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee in 1897 was celebrated by a 'Festival of the British Empire'
In 1897, it could be argued, the British Empire was at a high watermark.
Victoria sat at the head of a realm of 450 million souls, stretching across every continent.
In 1877 Victoria became Empress of India.
Victoria is the longest serving Monarch in English history.

This special verse was written for the National Anthem, to be sung at Diamond Jubilee Services in 1897.

Through all these sixty years,
Through all her joys and tears,
Through peace and war,
Thou hast upheld her throne,
While round it love has grown,
Binding wide realms in one,
All the world over.

a new website was launched as part of Queen Elizabeth's Jubilee celebration about Queen Victoria


Queen Elizabeth II ~ Diamond Jubilee 1952-2012

Her Majesty has over 600 patronages and, notwithstanding her advanced years, sets a fine example by attending over 430 engagements a year.

The Queen is Head of State in 16 countries

The Queen is Head of the Commonwealth which includes 54 countries and over 2 billion people

While the Queen has been Sovereign

12 British Prime Ministers have served the Queen:
Winston Churchill
Anthony Eden
Harold Macmillan
Alec Douglas-Home
Harold Wilson
Edward Heath
James Callaghan
Margaret Thatcher
John Major
Tony Blair
Gordon Brown
David Cameron

Thirteen Australian Prime Ministers:
Robert Menzies, Harold Holt, John McEwen, John Gorton, William McMahon, Gough Whitlam, Malcolm Fraser, Robert Hawke, Paul Keating, John Howard, Kevin Rudd, Julia Gillard, Tony Abbott

Eleven Canadian Prime Ministers:
Louis St Laurent, John Diefenbaker, Lester B. Pearson, Pierre Trudeau, Joe Clark, John Turner, Brian Mulroney, Kim Campbell, Jean Chrétien, Paul Martin, Stephen Harper

Fourteen New Zealand Prime Ministers:
Sidney Holland, Keith Holyoake, Walter Nash, Jack Marshall, Norman Kirk, Bill Rowling, Robert Muldoon, David Lange, Geoffrey Palmer, Michael Moore, James Bolger, Jennifer Shipley, Helen Clark, John Key

Eight Secretary-Generals of the United Nations:
Trygve Lie, Dag Hammarskjôld, U Thant, Kurt Waldheim, Javier Pérez de Cuéllar, Boutros Boutros-Ghali, Kofi Annan, Ban Ki-moon

Twelve US Presidents:
Harry S Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald R. Ford, James Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H. Bush, William J. Clinton, George W. Bush, Barack Obama

Ten French Presidents:
Vincent Auriol, René Coty, Charles de Gaulle, Alain Poher, Georges Pompidou, Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, François Mitterrand, Jacques Chirac, Nicolas Sarkozy, Francois Hollande

Eleven German Presidents:
Theodor Heuss, Heinrich Lübke, Gustav Heinemann, Walter Scheel, Karl Carstens, Richard von Weizsäcker, Roman Herzog, Johannes Rau, Horst Köhler, Christian Wulff, Joachim Gauck

Ten Italian Presidents:
Luigi Einaudi, Giovanni Gronchi, Antonio Segni, Guiseppe Leone, Sandro Pertini, Francesco Cossiga, Oscar Luigi Scalfaro, Carlo Azeglio Ciampi, Giorgio Napolitano


For more information on the Royal Family visit the Royal website at www.royal.gov.uk